We will exhibit on booth 4F85 at INDUTRY from 5 to 8 March 2019 in Lyon, France

Makerbot

Logo Makerbot

ABOUT MAKERBOT 3D PRINTING

Founded in 2009, MakerBot was one of the first companies to make 3D printing accessible and affordable with the first 3D printer, the Cupcake CNC. In 2010, they became the first company to present a 3D printer at the Consumer Electronics Show (CES). Now, 3D printing is its own category there with a myriad of 3D printing companies in attendance each year. After being acquired by Stratasys in 2013, they introduced the first Wi-Fi connected desktop 3D printer in 2014.

HOW MAKERBOT WORKS

FDM OR FUSED DEPOSITION MODELING

MakerBot’s 3D Printers rely on a technology called Fused Deposition Modeling or FDM. It uses an extruder, which acts similar to a hot glue gun. Plastic filament is fed in through the top, is melted at 215℃, and finally is “extruded” out of a small nozzle into the layers that build a 3D print.

CARTESIAN COORDINATES

MakerBot 3D Printers know where to move using a three dimensional cartesian coordinate system which defines every point of a 3D model with a unique position along the X, Y, and Z axes. The coordinates are fed to the printer from MakerBot Print and MakerBot Mobile.

MAKERBOT FILAMENT

MAKERBOT PLA FILAMENT

MakerBot PLA Filament is the best and most consistent filament optimized for use in MakerBot 3D Printers. Safe for the classroom, office, or home, this filament is non-toxic and easy-to-print with minimal warping or curling.

MAKERBOT TOUGH FILAMENT

Created for engineers and designers, MakerBot Tough Filament allows you to print durable, high-impact strength prototypes and fixtures. This filament is tested and optimized to print reliably and easily with the Tough Smart Extruder+.

PRINTING WORKFLOW

To print on a MakerBot 3D Printer, you must obtain a 3D file, prepare it in MakerBot Print, and send it to your MakerBot 3D printer.

MAKERBOT - Printing Workflow

STEP 1: 3D FILE

In order to 3D print, you must have a 3D file. Here are a few ways to get a file:

  • Design an object to print in a 3D modeling or CAD program.
  • Scan an existing object with a 3D scanner.
  • Find a file online from websites like thingiverse.com

STEP 2: PREPARE

Before sending a 3D file to your MakerBot, you must prepare the file. Preparing an object in our softwares translates your objects into a language the 3D printer can understand. This is referred to as slicing.

STEP 3: PRINT

Follow these steps before printing: Attach your extruder and build plate to your MakerBot 3D Printer, then load the filament.

REMOTE MONITORING

Once a print has begun, you can monitor its progress from MakerBot Print or MakerBot Mobile. Your MakerBot 3D Printer will need to be connected to a network over Wi-Fi or Ethernet to monitor remotely.

POST PROCESSING

SANDING

Learn how to sand your 3D prints to create an amazing surface finish, or prepare them for painting or silicone molding.

PAINTING

Learn how to create a nearly automotive quality paint job on any of your 3D prints.

Retrouvez-nous au Composites Meetings de Nantes du 13 au 14 novembre 2019

Makerbot

Logo Makerbot

A propos de MAKERBOT

Fondée en 2009, MakerBot a été l’une des premières entreprises à rendre l’impression 3D accessible et abordable avec la première imprimante 3D, la Cupcake CNC. En 2010, elle est devenue la première entreprise à présenter une imprimante 3D au Consumer Electronics Show (CES). Désormais, l’impression 3D est une catégorie à part entière avec une myriade de sociétés d’impression 3D présentes chaque année. Après avoir été acquis par Stratasys en 2013, ils ont présenté la première imprimante 3D de bureau connectée Wi-Fi en 2014.

Comment fonctionne MAKERBOT

MODÉLISATION DE DÉPÔTS FDM

Les imprimantes 3D de MakerBot reposent sur une technologie appelée modélisation par dépôt fondu ou FDM. Il utilise une extrudeuse, qui agit comme un pistolet à colle chaude. Le filament de plastique passe par le haut, est fondu à 215 et est finalement «extrudé» par une petite buse dans les couches qui forment une impression 3D.

COORDONNÉES CARTÉSIENNES

Les imprimantes 3D MakerBot savent où se déplacer en utilisant un système de coordonnées cartésiennes en trois dimensions qui définit chaque point d’un modèle 3D avec une position unique le long des axes X, Y et Z. Les coordonnées sont fournies à l’imprimante par MakerBot Print et MakerBot Mobile.

FILAMENT

FILAMENT PLA

Le filament PLA MakerBot est le meilleur et le plus cohérent des filaments optimisé pour une utilisation dans les imprimantes 3D MakerBot. Coffre-fort pour la salle de classe, le bureau ou la maison, ce filament est non toxique et facile à imprimer avec un gauchissement ou un gondolage minimal.

FILAMENT TOUGH

Créé pour les ingénieurs et les concepteurs, MakerBot Tough Filament vous permet d’imprimer des prototypes et des montages durables et à résistance élevée. Ce filament est testé et optimisé pour une impression fiable et facile avec la Tough Smart Extruder +.

FLUX D’IMPRESSION

Pour imprimer sur une imprimante 3D MakerBot, vous devez obtenir un fichier 3D, le préparer dans MakerBot Print et l’envoyer à votre imprimante 3D MakerBot.

MAKERBOT - Printing Workflow

ÉTAPE 1: FICHIER 3D

Pour imprimer en 3D, vous devez avoir un fichier 3D. Voici quelques façons d’obtenir un fichier:

  • Concevez un objet à imprimer dans un programme de modélisation 3D ou de CAO.µ
  • Numérisez un objet existant avec un scanner 3D.
  • Trouvez un fichier en ligne sur des sites tels que thingiverse.com
ÉTAPE 2: PRÉPARER
Avant d’envoyer un fichier 3D à votre MakerBot, vous devez le préparer. La préparation d’un objet dans nos logiciels traduit vos objets dans un langage que l’imprimante 3D peut comprendre. Ceci est appelé tranchage.

ÉTAPE 3: IMPRIMER

Suivez ces étapes avant d’imprimer: attachez votre extrudeuse et votre plaque de construction à votre imprimante 3D Makerbot, puis chargez le filament.

SURVEILLANCE À DISTANCE

Une fois qu’une impression a commencé, vous pouvez surveiller sa progression depuis MakerBot Print ou MakerBot Mobile. Votre imprimante 3D MakerBot devra être connectée à un réseau via Wi-Fi ou Ethernet pour pouvoir effectuer un contrôle à distance.

POST-TRAITEMENT

Ponçage

Apprenez à poncer vos impressions 3D pour créer une finition de surface étonnante ou à les préparer pour la peinture ou le moulage de silicone.

PEINTURE

Apprenez à créer un travail de peinture de qualité presque automobile sur l’une de vos impressions 3D.