Meet us at the APS MEETINGS : business convention 29 to 30 of June 2021 in Lyon, France

XERION

Logo XERION

XERION BERLIN LABORATORIES GmbH

Xerion is a German company founded in 1997, expert in manufacturing industrial furnaces. Thanks to different ranges of ovens, the company has become a recognised player for its expertise in various applications in the industrial sector.

In 2018, Xerion has put its know-how at the service of 3D printing by introducing its “Fusion Factory” range to the additive manufacturing market.

The market for additive manufacturing furnaces and debinding units

Today, metal or ceramic FDM and binder jetting processes are booming. These processes require three steps before the final parts are produced: printing, debinding and sintering. Once the printing step is complete, it is almost always necessary to debind the part, before finally sintering it to increase its mechanical propeeties. Xerion’s Fusion Factory range offers products suitable for both types of debinding :

  • The Fusion Factory for a solvent debinding,
  • Fusion Factory Compact and Enxtended for BASF materials.

For sintering, their expertise is very wide, it is possible to sinter almost all metals and ceramics from 3D printing processes.

It should be noticed that these two post-treatment steps are critical and condition the density and final quality of the part. Xerion debinding and sintering furnaces not only ensure this quality, but also safety and efficiency unequalled on the market.

Particularly suitable for BASF metal materials

Ultrafuse® 316L and 17-4PH are innovative filaments for the production of metal parts.

These filaments are designed to be easily used on conventional FDM 3D printers. Some slight modifications may be recommended to achieve better print quality. BASF Ultrafuse® filaments combine greater design freedom with lower total cost of ownership. Printing metal parts is easier, faster and more affordable.

The filament is based on Catamold metal/ceramic pellets, developed and used by BASF for the MIM process.

The binder for these materials is based on polyacetal. This requires a special atmosphere for debinding, but this step is twice as fast as normal ! Of course Xerion Fusion Factory Compact and Extended solutions are compatible with this atmosphere.

Retrouvez-nous aux APS MEETINGS, 29-30 juin à Lyon sur le stand 4

XERION

Logo XERION

XERION BERLIN LABORATORIES GmbH

Xerion est une société allemande créée en 1997, experte dans la fabrication de fours industriels. Grâce à différentes gammes de fours, la société est devenue un acteur reconnu pour son expertise dans diverses applications du secteur industriel.

En 2018, Xerion a mis à disposition son savoir-faire au service de l’impression 3D en introduisant sa gamme « Fusion Factory » sur le marché de la fabrication additive.

Le marché des fours et unités de déliantage pour la fabrication additive

Aujourd’hui les procédés FDM métal ou céramique et binder jetting sont en plein essor. Ces procédés nécessitent trois étapes avant l’obtention des pièces finales : l’impression propre au procédé, le déliantage, et le frittage. Une fois l’étape d’impression terminée, il est presque toujours nécessaire de délianter la pièce, avant de finalement la fritter pour augmenter ses caractéristiques mécaniques.

La gamme Fusion Factory de Xerion propose des produits adaptés à ces deux types de déliantage :

  • La Fusion Factory pour le déliantage dans un solvant,
  • Les Fusion Factory Extended et Compact pour les matériaux BASF.

Pour le frittage, leur expertise est encore plus large, il est possible de fritter quasiment tous les métaux et céramiques issues des procédés d’impression 3D.

Il faut savoir que ces deux étapes de post-traitement sont critiques et conditionnent la densité et la qualité finale de la pièce. Les fours de déliantage et de frittage Xerion assurent non seulement cette qualité, mais aussi une sécurité et une efficacité inégalée sur le marché.

Particulièrement adapté aux matériaux métal BASF

Ultrafuse® 316L et 17-4PH sont des filaments innovants destinés à la production de pièces en métal.
Ces filaments sont conçus pour être facilement utilisables sur les imprimantes 3D FDM conventionnelles. Certaines légères modifications peuvent être recommandées pour obtenir une meilleure qualité d’impression. Les filaments Ultrafuse® BASF allient une plus grande liberté de conception à un coût de revient total réduit. Imprimer des pièces métalliques est plus facile, plus rapide et plus abordable.

Ce filament est issu des granulats métal/céramique Catamold, développés et utilisés par BASF pour le procédé de moulage par injection (« MIM like »).

Pour ces différents matériaux, le liant est à base de polyacétal. Cela nécessite une atmosphère bien particulière pour le déliantage, mais cette étape devient deux fois plus rapide que la normale ! Evidemment les solutions Xerion Furnace Factory Compact et Extended sont compatibles avec cette atmosphère.